Track List

1. Make Up Girl

2. Hey You (Scintilla Of Sonder)
( Feat. Fay Claassen )

3. Painchiller

4. Life Must Go On
( feat. Alma Naidu)

5. Grooveland

6. Take It Home
( feat. Niki Haris)

7. Simba’s Samba

8. Red August

9. The Naked King

10. Done Deal
(Feat. Niki Haris and Kurt Elling)

Ada Rovatti - The Hidden World Of Piloo

Italy-born, Long Island, New York-based saxophonist/arranger Ada Rovatti delivers a captivating collection of original songs with wide-ranging thematic surprises around every corner. Her seventh album as a leader, The Hidden World of Piloo features six improvisationally rich instrumentals that include blues grooves, samba vibes, straight-up lyricism, melancholic balladry and a comedic finale. Two songs include strings; another features the dobro, a country instrument unlikely to be in a jazz song.

Four Rovatti compositions showcase top-tier vocalists, including jazz-poll champion Kurt Elling, the Netherlands jazz singer Fay Claassen, German pop/jazz star Alma Naidu and fired-up R&B singer Niki Haris (the daughter of jazz great Gene Harris) who once served as a Madonna backing vocalist. They each follow Rovatti’s “impossibly ranged melodies” and settle marvelously into her phrasing.

“This album is clearly not a project where band members solo twenty choruses of the blues,” says Rovatti, who is center stage on tenor, alto, soprano and baritone saxophones and flute. “I want to be recognized as a singer/songwriter, saxophonist and arranger. This album shows a different side of me.” In essence, creating space for a round of solos isn’t her intent. She wants to focus on the interplay among her band members—including her husband Randy Brecker on trumpet and flugelhorn, organist Simon Oslender, bassist Claus Fischer, drummer Tim Dudek, percussionist Café Da Silva—and other guests.


Ada Rovatti – Composer, arranger, lyricist, sax tenor, alto, soprano, baritone, flute
Simon Oslender  – Organ, Piano
Claus Fischer  – Bass
Tim Dudek – Drums

Niki Harris – Vocals on “ Take It Home ” and “Done Deal”
Fay Clausen – Vocals on “Hey You ( Scintilla of Sonder)”
Alma Naidu – Vocals on “Life Must Go On”
Kurt Elling – Vocals on “Done Deal”
Randy Brecker   Trumpet, Flugelhorn
Tom Guarna – Guitar on „Painchiller“ and „Red August“
Barry Finnerty – Guitar on „Done Deal „
Café da Silva – Percussion
Dean Brown – Guitar on “ Life Must Go On”
Guilherme Monteiro – Guit on “Simba’s Samba’
Larry Saltzman – Dobro on “Life Must Go On”
Meg Okura – Violin and Strings conductor 
Tomoko Akaboshi – Violin
Judith Insell – Viola
Rubin Kodheli – Cello
Jeffrey Carey – Double Bass

Label : Piloo Records & Productions
Artists : Ada Rovatti
Genres : Jazz, R&B
Release Date : 19 January 2024
Lyrics by : Ada Rovatti
Music by : Ada Rovatti
Produced by : Ada Rovatti
Recorded & Mixed by : Klaus Genuit
Recorded @ :
Hansahaus Studio Bonn, Germany Additional Recordings : Ranada Studios, East Hampton, NY & Orange Sheep Studios, Brooklyn, NY

Back to top

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet Lorem Ipsum.
lorem quis bibendum aucto Lorem ipsum dolor
um aucto Lorem ipsum

Follow us